Embassy of Ukraine in Australia

Kyiv 00:10

Political relations between Ukraine and Australia

Recognition of Ukraine by Australia

26 December 1991 Australia recognized all the states of the CIS.

Formalization of relations between Ukraine and Australia

Diplomatic relations between Ukraine and Australia were established 10 January 1992 by exchange of Verbal Notes. The Embassy of Ukraine in Australia was opened 14 April 2003. Since 1993 the Honorary Consulate of Ukraine operates in Melbourne.

Australian Embassy in Ukraine was opened in February 2015.

Bilateral contacts

1. Official visit to Australia of the parliamentary delegation headed by the Chairman of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine (November 1992).

2. Official visit to Ukraine of the parliamentary delegation led by the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the Australian Parliament (June-July 2004).

3. Visit of the Special Envoy of the Prime Minister of Australia to Ukraine (March 2012).

4. Bilateral meetings of Ministers for Foreign Affairs of Ukraine and Australia within the 47th session of the UN General Assembly (September 1992), the 52nd session of the UNGA (October 1997), the 54th session of the UNGA (September 1999), 58th session of the UNGA (September 2003), London Conference on Afghanistan (January 2010), at the UN Headquarters in New York (May 2010), the Munich Conference on Security Policy (February 2011), the OSCE Council of Ministers in Vilnius (December 2011).

5. July 22 - August 10 and 12-14 August 2014 - working visit Special Envoy of the Prime Minister of Australia to investigate the accident flight MN17 Allan Houston.

6. July 24-25 and July 27 - August 1, 2014 - working visit to Ukraine Foreign Minister of Australia Julie Bishop.

7. 10-12 December 2014 - State Visit of President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko to Australia.

The Ukrainian-Australian House, chaired by G.Lemets, operates in Kyiv.

In July 2012 the Australian Government pledged 1 million Euros to the EBRD Chornobyl Shelter Fund after taking part in the 2011 Kyiv Summit On Safe and Innovative Use of Nuclear Energy.